Skip to content

2010 Census

2010/03/23

As  I am sitting down to write this article, I was thinking about the theme of customer service. I completed my 2010 federal Census this week and it got me thinking about how a few minutes of my time providing some innocuous data really helps our country make decisions. If I stretched a bit, I might even say my contribution to the census helps provide better ‘customer service.’ Data has always been important to me. Don’t get me wrong I still rely a lot on ‘gut’ instinct, but if given the choice, I go with data!

Here at RSPA we have a lot of data on our members that we use for communications and marketing. The staff is constantly generating ideas for broadening our reach to penetrate our member community more effectively. We’ve successfully employed social media tools to accomplish this, but there’s so much more we want to do. Trouble is we need more data to make informed decisions.

So here’s the question. Did you know that you can add as many employees to our membership without any additional cost to you? If RSPA had data that included all our members’ sales representatives, I could direct sales education to the folks who need it the most. The same goes for support personnel. A couple of ideas we have been kicking around include starting an industry-wide professional women’s group. What about those who are recently out of college in their first careers who need to learn more about our industry and develop professional leadership or sales skills? It’s challenging to ‘find’ those folks!

While our association has been around for 60 years, it has evolved and changed tremendously in the last 5 years. Our need to target and focus our membership community grows even more important. RSPA’s mission is to help our member businesses grow and prosper. In order to be effective we need to know more about you.

So, when you receive a survey from RSPA in the near future, take just a few minutes and respond to the questions we ask. We need accurate data to make informed decisions about how YOUR association can help you.

It’s RSPA Census time — take a few minutes to share your information.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

