Skip to content

Humuhumunukunuku what?

2011/02/04

RSPA INSPIRE2011 Networking Lunch

On Monday, during INSPIRE2011, industry professionals from all over were able to sit down to a networking lunch (Thanks Elo/Tyco Electronics for sponsoring!) together at the Humuhumunukunukuapua’a Restaurant at the Grand Wailea Resort in Maui, Hawaii. Believe it or not, we weren’t discussing the crazy name of the restaurant. Top executives were meeting with their respective RSPA committees face-to-face or sitting with committees in which they showed interest. It was hard NOT to be moved by the great location, but beyond that, inspiration came almost naturally.

During this lunch, I sat with more than a dozen INSPIRE2011 attendees at the Emerging Technology Committee table. I would venture to say that less than half of those seated at the table were actually members of our committee – which to me, was very exciting. I was happy to see new people showing interest. Soon after we finished eating the great food, the table broke into multiple conversations about technology. I spoke to Barry Wise at length about new technologies he saw or heard about at NRF. Mobility is on the loose from what I’ve heard lately. Just from this one (at most: 30-minute) conversation, I was able to get leads for articles, education, and RetailNEXT. We discussed intelligent industry professionals who may be able to write for RSPA’s ‘connect’ magazine and/or speak at the next RSPA event (most-likely RetailNOW 2011 – Where the Industry Meets in Orlando).

For me, this was one of the highlights of my trip. This conversation alone made the plane ride from the east coast worth it. And remember – the conversation was about 30 minutes. So you can only imagine how much additional INSPIRation I returned to Charlotte with, ready to spill to my colleagues from the week of education, networking and activities.

In the sunshiney, blissful wake of the Hawaiian INSPIRE2011, we’d like to know:

What inspires you in your business or personal life?

Leave a comment!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 2011/02/28 2:39 pm

    I would say reading a quote or blog post at the beginning of each workday helps inspire me for the day. I would encourage everyone to do this!

  2. 2011/03/10 9:34 pm

    Acquiring knowledge – business or personal.

    Finding out the “how and why” of things that interest me is one of the most enjoyable activities that I can engage in.

    These facts plus their inter-relationships to other topics I’m interested in has always intrigued me.

    Too much to learn, too little time to devote to this effort often keeps me up until the “wee hours” of the night.

Leave a Reply

